David Bowie’s The Mercury Demos to be Released in June 2019

Ten early recordings of the late singer-songwriter David Bowie will be featured on the upcoming album The Mercury Demos. The Bowie’s recordings are set to be released on June 28. According to Consequence Of Sound, Bowie recorded the tracks live in one take to a Revox reel to reel tape machine in his own flat alongside guitarist and vocalist John “Hutch” Hutchinson.

Out of the 10 tracks to be featured on the album, “Space Oddity” is the only song to be listed on a previous album of Bowie’s, but it will mark the first time that the track is released in its simplest form. The other nine tracks are originals and two covers: Roger Bunn’s “Life is a Circus” and Lesley Duncan’s “Love Song”, of previously unreleased recordings.

To add to the excitement, the recordings will be placed in a replica of the original tape box. Included with the recordings will be one LP, a print, two photo contact sheets, and sleeve notes by Mark Adams.

David Bowie’s The Mercury Demos artwork and tracklist listed below.

The Mercury Demos Tracklist:
Side One:
01. Space Oddity
02. Janine
03. An Occasional Dream
04. Conversation Piece
05. Ching-a-Ling
06. I’m Not Quite (aka Letter To Hermione)
Side Two:
07. Lover To The Dawn
08. Love Song
09. When I’m Five
10. Life Is A Circus

Leave a Reply